Department of Pathology


A Department of Pathology of Rajshahi Medical College started its functioning in 1959 just a year later of the establisment of the medical college itself. At the  beginning it was named as department of Pathology & Microbiology and was headed by Prof. Dr. S M Asafudullah, the living legendary senior most Pathology in the country.

In 1993 the department was separated into two individual department named as department of Pathology and department of Microbiology. The functioning components of the department of Pathology are distributed into academic activities and laboratory services to the patients of Rajshahi Medical College Hospital (RMCH) since its inception.  It has been rendering its academic program to under graduate MBBS and BDS from the very beginning of its establishment.

In 1994, the department has started its postgraduate degree program with Diploma in Clinical Pathology (DCP) and in 2002, Doctor of Medicine (MD) in Pathology program has been started and by January, 2019 session, 21 doctors have obtained their Md degree in Pathology under the University of Rajshahi and BSMMU. Currently, there are 6 postgraduate students enrolled in DCP and 22 in MD (Pathology) courses.


MD (Pathology) student carry out research in there 3rd part of course as pre-requisite of the course and degree conferred after successful completion of thesis work.

Beside individual member of teaching staffs also carry out research and publish there work regularly n medical journals of home and abroad.

Training program (Govt. & Non- govt. students) :

  • Diploma in Medical Technologist (lab)
  • BSc in Medical Technologist (lab)

Services delivered by pathology department of RMC in the year 2020: Hematology, Biochemical test, Clinical Pathology, Histopathology, FNAC


SLPost NamePostPostedComments
01Professor010201 Contract Based 01 OSD
01Associate Prof.010201 OSD
01Asstt. Prof.030603 OSD
01Curator0101No Vacancy
01Clinical Pathologist0101No Vacancy
01Lecturer0606No Vacancy

Head of Department

Prof. Dr. S. M. Asafudullah

Prof. & Head of the Department (Contract Based)

Faculty Members